• Home
  • The Tiramisu Approach to Treatment Resistant Depression

The Tiramisu Approach to Treatment Resistant Depression

  • 8 May 2019
  • 11:00 AM


Psychiatry & Behavioral Health Learning Network

Register Now

The Tiramisu Approach to 
Treatment Resistant Depression: 
Integrating Psychotherapy, Pharmacology, 
CAM and Neurotherapeutics

DATE: Wednesday, May 8, 2019 1:00 p.m. ET, 12:00 p.m. CT, 10:00 a.m. PT, 11:00 a.m. MT
COST: FREE
DURATION: 1 hour

Approximately a third of patients with major depressive disorder do not respond to treatment, with only half achieving remission. This results in high morbidity and makes MDD one of the leading causes of disability in the world per the World Health Organization. Early intervention, intensive and multimodal treatment are key to improving outcomes in this patient population. Challenges inherent to treatment include polymorphism in the presentation, multifactorial etiology and complex pathophysiology. In this presentation, we will review current evidence for approaching patients with difficult to treat presentations using psychotherapy, psycho-pharmacology, neurotherapeutics and complementary-alternative medicine. In addition, we will discuss the latest developments in conceptualizing treatment resistance and novel, experimental treatments that are under investigation.

As a result of this presentation, the participant should be able to:

  • Define depression and treatment resistant depression (TRD)
  • Cite the current evidence-based and consensus-based treatments for TRD
  • Explain the challenges inherent to treatment of TRD
  • Identify novel and experimental approaches to difficult to treat depression

Jasleen Chhatwal

Jasleen Chhatwal, MD
Associate Medical Director, Director of Mood Recovery

Register Now

NAADAC_Accredited_Provider

Addiction Professionals

This course has been approved by NACCME, LLC, as a NAADAC Approved Education Provider, for educational credits. NAADAC Provider #182840. NACCME is responsible for all aspects of the programing.

Sponsored by:

Sierra Tucson-2

Utah Mental Health Counselors Association is Utah's hub for enhancing the profession of mental health counselors. 
UMHCA is a 501(c)6 organization.
© 2019 UHMCA Policies • Privacy • Site Map

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software